Capitol City Bike Trail

Today, after morning yoga, I rode 25 miles on the Capitol City Bike Trail. I explored a small portion of this trail yesterday when I was out running errands on my bike and knew I wanted to come back today and do the whole thing. 

This trail makes a circular route around the city and I did it in a clockwise direction, riding from our apartment towards the CBD. It was a beautiful day (again!) and with my new biking map I was off. I went past the the Docklands section of the city and then headed across the northern suburbs. Even with a map, I was uncertain of the route a couple of times, but helpful Melbournites got me on my way again in no time. Both times I got confused on the route were the 2 times a train station got in the way and the trail became part of the train passengers’ walkway! 

Image

Downtown view across the Yarra River, very near our apartment.

Image

Looking back on the Webb Bridge (for bikes and pedestrians), across the Yarra River.

Image

Bike trail near the Docklands area of Melbourne. Love the Norfolk Pines!

Image

Artwork in the Harbor area.

Image

The trail followed under some of the expressways out of Melbourne.

I stopped for lunch along the route at a little cafe that was nicely busy. The restaurant was right next to a small playground so there were lots of moms and little kids eating there. I had a bowl of Super Granola and it was delicious and fueled me up for the rest of the ride home. 

Image

Super Granola~Super Delicious!

Image

At one point, I had to wait for the train to pass on its way to a nearby station. This was not one of train stations that caused me some confusion!

I had ridden the last 7 miles of the Capitol City trail in a ride I took a couple of weeks ago, so it was comforting to be riding along and recognizing landmarks! I added a few miles on to go see what was happening in Federation Square on a beautiful Friday afternoon and there were lots of people sitting and enjoying the sunshine!

Image

Artsy self-portrait!

I had a bit of a surprise when I got home in that there was a new couch in our living area! When I came into the reception area of this building, one of the receptionists warned me that the delivery guys might be in the apartment. There were no guys when I unlocked the door, just a couch, wrapped in plastic, standing up on its end. Five minutes later there was a knock on the door and there were the delivery guys with the second couch, this one a sleeper sofa! I didn’t think we really needed a new couch, but I did think that when we had company here, the couch was not big enough for 4 people! Apparently our original couch was a loaner until these 2 couches came in. 

Image

Two new couches! I won’t apologize for the clutter on the coffee table~it always looks like that!

Tonight we are going out to dinner at a restaurant in the Southgate area, just south of the CBD along the Yarra River. Yesterday when I was on my bike doing my errands, one of my jobs was to ride by this row of restaurants and check out their menus. I came home and checked some on-line reviews for the 6 restaurants I stopped at. We are going to a place called Waterfront and as you might imagine it is a seafood place!

Tomorrow is the weekend and I will have my travel partner back with me! 

6 comments on “Capitol City Bike Trail

  1. Sally says:

    Very nice ride! What are the midday temperatures like in that sunshine?

    • marjirob says:

      Our temps have been reaching daytime highs of upper 60’s and low 70’s this past week, but that is all due to change this week with the highs in the 50’s.

  2. Sandy Lane says:

    Stellar photos. Love those sites and sights, especially the bike web bridge! Really Norfalk pines?

  3. Amy says:

    What a beautiful city it is. How is Jim enjoying work over there? Hope you guys have a great weekend traveling around. (It’s still Friday here and a payday too. Woo hoo!!)

    • marjirob says:

      Hi Amy, thanks for your comment! Jim works a lot, both at his office and at home, but says the work is interesting. You’d love all the biking opportunities here! Hope all is well with your family.

Leave a Reply

